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NEVADA OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 
COMMITTEE ON DOMESTIC VIOLENCE (CDV) 
SERVICES AND TRAINING SUBCOMMITTEE 

 
 

 
Thursday, April 14, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. 

 
 

Meeting Location: 
 

Join the meeting: https://call.lifesizecloud.com/14105969 
Passcode: 0414# 

 
Join the Lifesize meeting using Skype for Business: https://skype.lifesizecloud.com/14105969 

 
Click to call from Mobile (audio only) 

United States: +1 (312) 584-2401, 14105969#,,0414# 
 

Call in by Phone (audio only) 
United States: +1 (312) 584-2401 
Meeting extension: 14105969# 

Passcode: 0414# 
 

Calling from a Lifesize conference room system? Just dial 14105969 with the keypad. 
 

Other ways to call: https://call.lifesize.com/otherways/14105969 
 

 
1. Call to order and roll call of members. 

a. The Committee on Domestic Violence (CDV) Services and Training 
Subcommittee meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. 

b. Present 
• Greene, Elynne (Greene) 
• Green, April (Green) 
• Ortenburger, Liz (Ortenburger) 
• Ramos, Suzanne (Ramos) 
• Larson, Zac (Larson) 
• Morris, Marla (Morris) 
• Harig, Traci (Harig) 

 
c. Absent 

• Scott, Annette (Scott) 

https://call.lifesizecloud.com/14105969
https://skype.lifesizecloud.com/14105969
https://call.lifesize.com/otherways/14105969
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a. Staff 
• Reilly, Nicole (Reilly) 
• Henna Rasul (Rasul) 

b. Public 
• Pam Payne (UNR) 

d. Quorum established 
 

2. Public Comment. 
• None 

 
3. For Discussion and Possible Action:  

a. Approval of meeting minutes from March 3, 2022.  
b. Motion to amend the meeting minutes to show Harig was in attendance.  
c. Meeting Minutes approved as amended. 

 
1. For Discussion and Possible Action:  Ortenburger, of SafeNest provided 

research and findings regarding Standards for Advocacy Training.  
Ortenburger stated that the Victim Advocacy definition is lacking. 
Ortenburger recommended following California as a model for its victim 
advocacy training. In California, Victim Advocates are called Victim 
Counselors, they provide 40 hours of supervised training, they go into a long 
list of what needs to be included in that training. Requirements for trainers is 
they must have a certificate from the State of California showing they are a 
qualified victim advocacy trainer- State Certified Advocacy Training. While an 
increase in the number of hours for advocacy training is important, we should 
also use California as a model for its victim advocacy training. Also, should add 
batterer’s assistance to take the training as well. Greene stated that current 
Nevada law includes HT, DV, and SA advocacy and Best Practices information. 
Ortenburger stated the 40-hour training should have a recertification period, 
once per year, or every two years, etc. Greene stated OVC attendees must 
renew certification annually and she also stated offering continuing education 
is essential.  
 

Reilly will compile the research from both Greene and Ortenburger and 
will create a draft for review and discussion at a meeting before the upcoming 
CVD meeting.  
 

 
2. For Discussion and Possible Action:  Ramos provided the Blue Cards. 

Ortenburger stated the DA-LE vs. Lethality Assessment Program (LAP) 
should be added as it is a better screening mechanism as it is weighted in the 
scoring. LAP screens assumes everyone is high risk. Ortenburger stated we 
need a better screening mechanism. DA-LE is a more meaningful and effective 
mechanism in comparison to LAP. Greene believes the DA-LE will be much 
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more effective, however, she fears this mechanism will become too political, 
and requests to find an alternative solution. Greene went on to say that the 
process went from a conversational situation where a police officer speaks to 
the victim during a 911 call, but the processes of DA-LE and LAP has become 
a check box process which has eliminated human interaction.   Pam stated that 
part of the problem is having law enforcement as an audience, engaging law 
enforcement more and the problem being they are not open to the process. 
Larson suggested implementing a strong follow up process. Ortenburger stated 
it is difficult to follow up with victims.  

Reilly to add DA-LE mechanism to the recommendation sheet. 
Reilly suggested to continue the discussion on LAP and DA-LE 
mechanisms at the next subcommittee.  

4. Public Comment. 
a. None 

5. For Possible Action 
 Adjournment. 

a. Meeting adjourned.  
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Minutes respectfully submitted by Gina Hinds 
Edited by Nicole Reilly 
Office of the Attorney General 
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NRS 49.2545 “Victim’s advocate” defined. 

1.  “Victim’s advocate” means a person who is employed by a nonprofit 

program, a domestic violence, sexual assault, or human trafficking service 

organization, a program of a university, state college or community college 

within the Nevada System of Higher Education or a program of a tribal 

organization which provides assistance to victims of domestic violence, 

sexual assault, or human trafficking, with or without compensation and who 

has received at least 40 hours of mandatory supervised training.  

2. The advocate must receive 40 hours of supervised training by an individual 

who qualifies as a Victim’s Advocate, who has at least one year of experience 

counseling domestic, sexual assault, or human trafficking for the 

victim service organization. The training shall include, but need not be limited 

to, the following areas: Ethics, civil and criminal law as it relates to domestic 

violence, sexual assault, or human trafficking, trauma-specific training, media 

best practices, victim-counselor privilege and other laws that protect the 

confidentiality of victim records and information, and other resources 

available to meet the needs of domestic violence, sexual assault, and human 

trafficking victims.  

(a) To qualify for privilege, a victim’s advocate must have at least 40 

hours of training in assisting victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or 

human trafficking and a portion of this training must include an explanation 

of privileged communication. 

 

 

 

 



Attachment 
Three (3)

Committee on Domestic Violence 

Services and Training Subcommittee 

July 18, 2022 

Contents: Lethality Assessments 
Comparison



 


	Master Agenda S & T     7-18-2022 Rescheduled
	A1 Cover Page

	2022-04-14 Meeting Minutes Services and Training with Watermark
	Master Agenda S & T     7-18-2022 Rescheduled
	A2 Cover Page
	Master Agenda S & T 6-28-2022 with Attachments
	A2 - NRS Victim Advocate Draft

	A3 Cover Page
	Master Agenda S & T 6-28-2022 with Attachments
	A3 - Lethality Assessments Comparison



